Tourist Attractions

Neuschanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle today-Visitor Records and Conservation Problems Seven weeks after King Ludwig’s death Neuschwanstein was opened to the public in 1886. The reclusive King had the castle built to retreat from public life – but from then on his refuge became a major attraction.
Neuschwanstein today belongs to the most visited castles and forts within Europe. Around 1.4 Mio. visitors come to the “Fairy King’s Castle” per year. In summers an average of more than 6,000 visitors per day huzzle through rooms which were originally intended for only one inhabitant.
Location: Neuschwanstein
[More information]

Sisi-Castle
The moated castle in Unterwittelsbach close to Aichach, popularly known as the “Sisi-Castle”.
The moated castle in Aichach’s urban district Unterwittelsbach can refer to a long history.
Many years, the hunting lodge which used to belong to Duke Max in Bavaria was not open to the public. Certainly, this would not have been important to anyone, if “Zither Maxl” (Duke Max’s nickname; Zither = stringed musical instrument) had not been the father to a world famous daughter who stepped into the limelight of history in 1853:
Elizabeth, Empress of Austria, Queen of Hungary, the most beautiful woman of her time.
“Sisi” and/or “Sissy” is well known from history, literature and the movies.
Location: Aichach
[More information]

Fuggerei Augsburg

Located in Augsburg since 1367, the Fuggers became the leading merchant family in three generations by at first trading with woven fabric in the Free Imperial City of Augsburg. Jakob Fugger, the Elder, succeeded in going down in history by doing business with precious metal, goods and financing transactions as the most successful banker of his time due to his relationship with the Habsburg family. With his successor Anton, business was increasingly transferred to Spain. It was there where the company ended its activities around 1650. With the profits from trading, three generations gained extensive real estate and property until the year 1600, which became since Anton Fugger the family’s new economic and social basis.
The family changed itself: Merchants turned into members of the nobility who were granted important positions in both clerical life and the Empire. The Fuggers used parts of their wealth to start independent foundations and they still manage them today to ensure their continued existence.
Location: Augsburg
[More information]

Trade Fairs

Augsburg
mehr Informationen

Munich
mehr Informationen

Nuremberg
mehr Informationen

Stuttgart
mehr Informationen


Public Festivals

Augsburger Plärrer

Swabia’s largest public festival, an event by the City of Augsburg, not far from the city centre, with all transport connections close by.
Visitors get the chance to experience everything from state-of-the-art or historic merry-go-rounds, to sophisticated gastronomy with beer gardens and beer tents offering places for 500 up to 2500 persons.
[More information]

Oktoberfest – Wiesn

Munich’s Oktoberfest (in Bavarian dialect “Wiesn”) is the biggest popular festival in the world. Since 1810 it has taken place on the Theresienwiese in Bavaria’s state capital Munich. Every year around 6 Mio. people visit it; in 2014 6.3 Mio. people came. Munich’s breweries produce a special kind of beer for the Oktoberfest, which has to have an original wort of at least 13.5 % and thus contains more alcohol than an ordinary full-bodied beer (in 2013 between 5.8 and 6.4 %).
[More information]

Friedberger Volksfest
The Friedberger Volksfest was first celebrated in 1928 by the town of Friedberg. After an interruption during World War II the popular festival was resumed and has in the meantime developed into one of Swabia’s leading festivals due to the enthusiasm of the committee board members, who contribute to its success with a lot of passion and volunteer work. The proven mixture of attractive fun rides, the big beer tent, the cozy beer garden, the welcoming wine tent, exciting entertainment and relaxing with beer, wine, delicious food and many more things has been and continues to be the basis for our traditional event. It all starts with the traditional procession of horse-drawn beer wagons, old timers and delegations of local clubs from Marienplatz to the fairground, followed by the ceremonial opening and the initial tapping of the festival beer barrel.
[More information]

Aichacher Volksfest
[More information]


Events

Kaltenberg Knight’s Tournament

Come into a world…
..of fantastic, captivating and catching events. As soon as you enter through the gate to the Medieval Festival everything changes: You immerse in a fantastic world of jongleurs and jesters, sutlers and entertainers, knights and craftsmen. With much attention to detail an experience of the Middle Ages is created which invites you, even forces you to take part and see, to try out and be amazed.
The highlight of the Kaltenberg experience is the big Knight’s tournament show. Daredevil riders rush into the arena, fire, light and music stimulate your senses. Enacted spectacularly and live: the fight for winning the tournament, the conflict between good and evil.
[More information]

Töpfermarkt Friedberg (pottery market)
Already for the 14th time the tourist office Friedberg organizes the traditional solstice pottery market!
[More information]

Augsburger Friedensfest (Augsburg Peace Festival)
Public holiday in the urban area of Augsburg to remember the Peace of Westphalia from 1648 with peace banquet and gala concert in St. Anna.
Venue: Rathausplatz and pedestrian zone Augsburg
[More information]

Neuburger Schloßfest (Neuburg’s castle festival)

Every two years the renaissance awakens anew in Neuburg upon the Danube on the last weekend in June and the first one in July. Our historic old town offers a unique background for this fascinating spectacle. The complete town follows the steps of Count Palatine Otto-Henry and celebrates a lavish party. The Steckenreiter Tanz (a dance in which the artists ride sticks having a horse head) in the castle courtyard, the splendid parade and the Brilliant Fireworks on the river Danube to the tunes of Paul Winter are only a few highlights of the Neuburger Schloßfest.
Visit us, be part of our princely past and most important – celebrate with us! Get carried away in the colourful hustle and bustle on the historic funfair, be enchanted by the noble dance games and be impressed by the brave horsemen tournaments.
[More information]

Augsburger Dult (street market)
Augsburg’s longest open air department store offering a diverse range of products between Jakobertor and Vogeltor is looking forward to your visit!
[More information]

Friedberger Zeit
Historic festival in the old town of Friedberg. With the most diverse historic groups.
[More information]


Advent seasonal markets

Friedberger Advent
[More information]

Christmas Market Affing
[More information]

Augsburger Christkindelsmarkt (Christmas market)
The historic atmosphere of the Augsburger Christkindlesmarkt (Christmas market) every year again enchants the visitors. With its long tradition and its diverse range of products offered, the market attracts more than 1 Mio. persons to Augsburg. Discover the manifold goods of the merchants.
[More information]


Leisure Time & Shopping

Legoland Germany

The amusement park as short trip or holiday for families. Fun rides, shows and more than 50 Mio LEGO® bricks.
Location: Günzburg
[More information]

Skyline Park

Pure adrenalin in the amusement park in Bavaria
Thrill, racing of the pulse, breathless tension and a pleasant scary tingling in your complete body – action loving visitors get their full money’s worth in the amusement park in Bad Wörishofen. The bravest visitors at first test the ultimate way to increase their heart beat in the Sky Wheel, the highest overhead roller coaster in Europe. From 50 m in height you speed down headfirst with an acceleration rate of 5 G. And if this whetted your appetite then you should get on the Sky Shot and are ejected 90 m into the sky inside a ball.
Very sophisticated: the thrill-kick in the Allgäu adventure park
Location: Allgäu
[More information]

SEA LIFE

Which marine animals are your favorite? Here in SEA LIFE Munich you have the possibility to find that out: from curious and worth-protecting animals to rare and mysterious ones. You can’t possibly get closer to underwater life without getting wet!
Many of our creatures are on the Red List of endangered species. They were rescued and cannot go back to their natural habitat or were born and grew up in the fish tanks being part of our SEA LIFE conservation projects. Explore together with us these wonderful creatures!
Location: Munich
[More information]

City Galerie
The City Galerie is a shopping mall opened in 2001 and provides you with more than 100 shops and restaurants on a total area of 40,400 m2.
Location: Augsburg
[More information]

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Schloss Neuschwanstein

Schloss Neuschwanstein heute –
Besucherrekorde und Erhaltungsprobleme
Bild: Schloss NeuschwansteinSieben Wochen nach dem Tod König Ludwigs II. wurde Neuschwanstein im Jahr 1886 dem Publikum geöffnet. Der menschenscheue König hatte die Burg erbaut, um sich aus der Öffentlichkeit zurückzuziehen – jetzt wurde sein Refugium zum Publikumsmagneten.
Neuschwanstein gehört heute zu den meistbesuchten Schlössern und Burgen Europas. Rund 1,4 Millionen Menschen jährlich besichtigen „die Burg des Märchenkönigs“. Im Sommer drängen sich im Durchschnitt täglich mehr als 6.000 Besucher durch Räume, die für einen einzigen Bewohner bestimmt waren.
Ort: Neuschwanstein
[mehr Informationen]

Sisi-Schloss
Das Wasserschloss in Unterwittelsbach bei Aichach, im Volksmund auch das „Sisi-Schloss“ genannt.
Das Wasserschloss im Aichacher Stadtteil Unterwittelsbach hat eine lange Vergangenheit. Viele Jahre war das Jagdschloss, das einst Herzog Max in Bayern gehörte, für die Öffentlichkeit nicht zugänglich. Sicherlich hätte das auch kaum jemanden gestört, wenn der „Zither-Maxl“ nicht eine weltberühmte Tochter gehabt hätte, die im Jahre 1853 ins Rampenlicht der Geschichte trat:
Elisabeth, Kaiserin von Österreich, Königin von Ungarn, die schönste Frau ihrer Zeit.
„Sisi“ bzw. als „Sissi“ bekannt aus Geschichte, Literatur und Film.
Ort: Aichach
[mehr Informationen]

Fuggerei Augsburg

Seit 1367 in Augsburg ansässig, stiegen die Fugger zunächst über den Verlag von Webwaren in drei Generationen zur führenden Kaufmannsfamilie der Reichsstadt auf. Jakob Fugger dem Reichen gelang es aufgrund seiner Beziehung zu den Habsburgern, durch Verknüpfung von Edelmetall,- Waren- und Finanzierungsgeschäften als erfolgreichster Bankier seiner Zeit in die Geschichte einzugehen.
Unter seinem Nachfolger Anton verlagerten sich die Geschäfte zunehmend nach Spanien. Dort stellte die Firma dann auch um 1650 ihre Tätigkeit ein. Mit den Erträgen aus dem Handel erwarben drei Generationen bis 1600 umfangreichen Grund- und Herrschaftsbesitz, der seit Anton Fugger zur neuen wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Basis der Familie wurde.
Die Familie wandelte sich: Aus Kaufleuten wurden Adelige, die wichtige Positionen in Kirche und Reich errangen. Mit einem Teil ihres Vermögens gründeten die Fugger eigenständige Stiftungen, um deren Fortbestand sie sich bis zum heutigen Tag kümmern.
Ort: Augsburg
[mehr Informationen]


Messen

Augsburg
mehr Informationen

München
mehr Informationen

Nürnberg
mehr Informationen

Stuttgart
mehr Informationen


Volksfeste

Augsburger Plärrer

Schwabens größtes Volksfest, eine Veranstaltung der Stadt Augsburg, nahe dem Stadtkern, mit allen Verkehrsanbindungsmöglichkeiten.
Von Hightech- bis Nostalgiekarussellen, gepflegter Gastronomie mit Biergarten und Bierzelten, mit einer Kapazität von 500 bis 2500 Sitzmöglichkeiten, wird dem Besucher alles geboten.
[mehr Informationen]

Oktober Fest – Wiesn

Das Oktoberfest in München (mundartlich Wiesn) ist das größte Volksfest der Welt. Es findet seit 1810 auf der Theresienwiese in der bayerischen Landeshauptstadt München statt und wird Jahr für Jahr von rund sechs Millionen Menschen besucht; 2014 waren es 6,3 Millionen Besucher. Für das Oktoberfest brauen die Münchner Brauereien ein spezielles Bier, das eine Stammwürze von mindestens 13,5 % aufweisen muss und folglich mehr Alkohol als gewöhnliches Vollbier enthält (2013 zwischen 5,8 und 6,4 %).
[mehr Informationen]

Friedberger Volksfest
Das Friedberger Volksfest präsentierte sich erstmals im Jahr 1928 den Friedbergern. Nach einer Unterbrechung während der Kriegszeit konnte das Fest wieder aufgenommen werden und gestaltet sich Dank des Enthusiasmus der Vorstandsmitglieder, die mit viel Herzblut und ehrenamtlicher Tätigkeit zum Gelingen beitragen, immer weiter zu einem der führenden Volksfeste in Schwaben. Die bewährte Mischung attraktiver Fahrgeschäfte, des großen Bierzeltes mit gemütlichem Biergarten, dem einladenden Weinzelt, aufregender Unterhaltung und Entspannung bei Bier, Wein, leckerem Essen und vielem mehr, war und ist die Basis für unsere Traditionsveranstaltung. Startschuss ist der traditionelle Einzug mit Bierwagen, Oldtimern und Vereinsabordnungen vom Marienplatz zum Festplatz mit feierlicher Eröffnung und Festbieranstich.
[mehr Informationen]

Aichacher Volksfest
[mehr Informationen]


Veranstaltungen

Kaltenberger Ritterturnier

Lass dich entführen…
… in eine fantastische, fesselnde und bewegende Welt. Sobald man das Tor zum Mittelalterfest passiert, ist nichts mehr wie es einmal war: Man taucht ein in eine fantastische Welt aus Gauklern und Narren, Marketendern und Spielleuten, Rittern und Handwerkern. Mit viel Liebe zum Detail wird ein Mittelaltererlebnis inszeniert, das zum mitmachen und schauen, zum ausprobieren und staunen einlädt und entführt.
Die Krönung des Kaltenberg-Erlebnisses ist die große Ritterturnier-Show. Waghalsige Reiter stürmen die Arena, Feuer, Licht und Musik lassen alle Sinne beben. Spektakulär und live in Szene gesetzt: Der Kampf um den Sieg im Turnier, der Konflikt zwischen Gut und Böse.
[mehr Informationen]

Töpfermarkt Friedberg
Bereits zum 14. Mal organisiert der Verkehrsverein Friedberg den traditionellen Sonnenwend-Töpfermarkt!
[mehr Informationen]

Augsburger Friedensfest
Feiertag im Stadtgebiet Augsburg zum Gedenken an den Westfälischen Frieden von 1648 mit Friedensmahl und einem Festkonzert in St. Anna.
Veranstaltungsort: Rathausplatz und Fußgängerzone Augsburg

[mehr Informationen]

Neuburger Schloßfest

Alle zwei Jahre erwacht die Renaissance in Neuburg an der Donau am letzten Juni und am ersten Juliwochenende wieder zu neuem Leben. Unsere historische Altstadt bildet die einzigartige Kulisse für dieses faszinierende Spektakel. Die ganze Stadt wandelt auf den Spuren von Pfalzgraf Ottheinrich und feiert ein rauschendes Fest. Der Steckenreiter Tanz im Schlosshof, der prächtige Festumzug und das Brilliant Feuerwerk über der Donau zu den Klängen von Paul Winter sind nur einige Höhepunkte beim Neuburger Schloßfest.
Besuchen Sie uns, werden Sie Teil unserer fürstlichen Vergangenheit
und vor allem – feiern Sie mit uns! Lassen Sie sich mitreißen vom
bunten Treiben auf dem historischen Jahrmarkt, bezaubern von edlen
Tanzspielen und beeindrucken von mutigen Reiterspielen.
[mehr Informationen]

Augsburger Dult
Augsburgs längste Freiluftkaufhaus mit einem vielfältigen Warenangebot, zwischen Jakobertor und Vogeltor,
freut sich auf Ihren Beusch!
[mehr Informationen]

Friedberger Zeit
Historisches Altstadtfest in Friedberg. Mit den verschiedensten historischen Gruppen.
[mehr Informationen]


Adventsmärkte

Friedberger Advent
[mehr Informationen]

Weihnachtsmarkt Affing
[mehr Informationen]

Augsburger Christkindelsmarkt
Das historische Ambiente des Augsburger Christkindlesmarktes verzaubert jedes Jahr wieder die Besucher. Mit seiner langen Tradition und seinem vielfältigen Angebot lockt er jährlich über eine Million Menschen nach Augsburg. Entdecken Sie das vielfältige Angebot der Händler.
[mehr Informationen]


Freizeit & Shopping

Legoland Deutschland

Der Freizeitpark als Kurztrip oder Urlaub für Familien. Fahrattraktionen, Shows und über 50 Mio. LEGO® Steine.
Ort: Günzburg
[mehr Informationen]

Skyline Park

Adrenalin pur im Freizeitpark in Bayern
Nervenkitzel, Pulsbeschleunigung, atemlose Spannung und ein wohlig-schauriges Kribbeln im ganzen Körper – Actionbegeisterte kommen im Erlebnispark in Bad Wörishofen voll auf ihre Kosten. Die ganz Mutigen testen zuerst den ultimativen Herzfrequenz-Beschleuniger Sky Wheel, die höchste Überkopf-Achterbahn Europas.
Aus 50 m Höhe rast du mit einer Beschleunigung von bis zu 5 G kopfüber in die Tiefe. Und wenn du jetzt auf den Geschmack gekommen bist, steigst du in den Sky Shot und lässt dich in einer Kugel 90 m in den Himmel katapultieren.
Ziemlich abgehoben: der Thrill-Kick im Abenteuerpark im Allgäu
Ort: Allgäu
[mehr Informationen]

SEA LIFE

Welche Meerestiere sind Ihre Lieblingstiere? Hier im SEA LIFE München haben Sie die Möglichkeit, dies herauszufinden: von neugierigen und schützenswerten bis hin zu seltenen und rätselhaften Tieren. Näher kommen Sie der Unterwasserwelt nicht ohne nass zu werden!
Viele unserer Bewohner sind auf der roten Liste gefährdeter Tiere. Sie wurden gerettet und können nicht in den natürlichen Lebensraum zurückgeführt werden oder sind als Teil unserer SEA LIFE Schutzprojekte in den Aquarien geboren und aufgewachsen. Entdecken Sie mit uns gemeinsam diese wunderbaren Bewohner!
Ort: München
[mehr Informationen]

City Galerie
Die City-Galerie ist ein im Jahr 2001 eröffnetes Einkaufszentrum und stellt über 100 Shops und Gastrobetrieben auf einer Fläche von insgesamt 40.400 m² für Sie bereit.
Ort: Augsburg
[mehr Informationen]